9 Dec 2015

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5 Metrics playing a crucial role in app marketers’ life

Earlier, it was only analytics helping marketers to know about their app marketing strategies up to certain extent. But now, plenty of data entered the market that includes analytics of everything including What, when and where. Downloads, clicks, ratings, reviews, landings, user behaviour – it includes all.


The days are gone when downloads and ratings were the only methods to measure app’s success. Now, the success factor relies on many other metrics. Today’s metrics is something that app marketers can’t live without. These metrics provide app’s insights, performance level, user behaviour and the list is endless – from which I have mentioned some important one playing a crucial role in app marketer’s life.

1. Average Revenue Per User (ARPU)

Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) is a total amount generated by app from its total number of active users. (Wiki Definition: total revenue divided by number of subscribers).

For e.g. An app generates $5000 per month and it has total 200 active users

It’s ARPU = total revenue/ total customers = 5000/200 = $25 per user.

ARPU figures are important for app marketers as they portray a clear vision of valuable customers’ spending money for app. These figures are also helpful in other metrics too. When ARPU combines with Cost Per Loyal User (CPLU) and Retention rates, it generates accurate results of app success.

2. Cost Per Install (CPI), Cost Per Loyal User (CPLU)

Cost Per Install (CPI) is calculated on the basis of total number of paid installs generated from paid advertising campaign.

Cost Per Loyal User (CPLU) is the cost of a user landed from paid campaigns. A loyal user equals to the user who has open your app at least 3 times.

CPI, CPLU and ARPU are combined together to calculate Return on Investment (ROI).

3. Engagement

Engagement doesn’t need a definition as the single word depicts everything. Engagement is something for which app is actually made. That’s why app marketers care for this metrics the most. Engagement metrics represent a better picture of how users interact with app (whether they like app, hate it or just keep it in their smartphone). It lets you understand user behaviour, so that you can find most appealing content and unnecessary elements within the app. 

4. Crash Reports

Crash reports are as important as user experience is. You can say it is proportional to user experience. App marketers must know how many crashes their app has. Frequent crashes result into an app failure – no matter how much great, entertaining, engaging or resourceful your app is. All your investment from development to marketing will be a ruin, if your app has crashes. To save your investment and app, you need crash reports to heal them as soon as possible.

5. Retention

Retention is: how many users return to your app after a week, month or year. These metrics illustrate the value of your app or the come-back desire of your users.

Retention rate indicates the success measure of your app and current user-base. Apps with millions of downloads can’t measure the success as we don’t know whether users are returning back or not. But with retention rate, we can know whether users are coming back or not – If they are coming back, which things are catching their attention the most or if not, which things are disturbing them the most. One can improve its app a lot by improving liking features and by eliminating unnecessary features.

Metrics give more control over app and users. It helps generating more revenue if taken care properly. It also increases the life span of app in users’ smartphone. Hence, they are the importance part of mobile app marketing campaigns.
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1 Dec 2015

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4 Tweet Hacks – Smart Way of Mobile App Promotion

You might be wondering how 140 tweet characters only can work smartly for mobile app promotion?

Initially Twitter started as a SMS based service – generally SMS has limits of 160 characters. So, Twitter thought to limit its tweets up to 140 characters and keep 20 characters aside for username. This is the true and technical reason behind 140 characters limit. But later, the technique became the key reason of Twitter’s success because of which it raised many psychological reasons behind 140 characters limit schema.

140 characters create a perfect idea around the story. It’s like a title revealing what’s the story inside. Let’s understand this from Buffer and its recent tweet.


Buffer wants to teach you tricks to live a successful daily routine. I didn’t read the whole post, but I know the purpose of Buffer. How? Its short and sweet tweet reveals everything about what’s inside. This is called the power of 140 characters limit.

Like Buffer, you can also build an idea of your app and spread it throughout the world. But you need to learn 4 Tweet hacks before you start experimenting with Twitter.


1. Tweet for “Now”

Users visit Twitter to know what’s happening now in their favourite areas of interest. You can capture immediate users’ attention with words revealing what’s going on. While writing this article I searched for some type of “now” news – the below given caught my attention.


Apart from “Now” news, you can also grab attention by creating a feeling of urgency among users. “Hurry Up”, “Quick”, “Fast”, “Limited” are some words creating a sense of top priority among users.


Research says that these kinds of posts (Now & Urgency) can drive 36% lower cost-per-install and 9% higher conversion rate.

2. Message in a personal style

Including words like “you” or “your” will make your message seems personal to users. App marketers or regular tweeters claimed an 18% lower cost-per-install and 13% higher conversion rate with personalized tweets.


3. Set a specific tweet

A specific tweet is the one revealing an exact thing. It can be an offer, discount, deal or anything particular. You will see such types of tweets majorly from apps selling stuff.



Research shows the effectiveness of specific tweets – 26% lower cost-per-install.

4. Don’t Stick to Capitalization

Writing capitals can attract more users – believe me, that’s a myth. Analysis says something else. Research shows that including excessive capitalization leads to 58% higher cost-per-install and 36% lower conversion rate. So, it’s better to capitalize only one or two words in your tweets.

Conclusion

While making tweets, put all your focus on its words. These are just five hacks, you can explore more and more by seeing the tweets of your competitors and others like shopping apps, travelling apps or those selling stuff. Better tweets will promptly improve your ROI of app marketing campaigns. Optimization will help you improve Tweets and also make it sure that you are going through a right direction.
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23 Oct 2015

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5 ways Mobile marketing makes social media more effective

Mobile technology has mingled our lives with social media sites in such a way that it’s unthinkable to go-on without mobile a single day. More difficult than this is thinking our life without social media networks where we hang out with friends, finding jobs, creating professional networks, and doing many more things to pass our day with activeness.

Social media was there before the existence of smartphone era, but we all agree that it was not as effective as it is today. Let’s not forget the social media giant Facebook who brought mobile-compatible Facebook website and later the Facebook apps that renewed the face of social media. After that it became or it is a trend to publish your business in app format.


It was mobile-first approach that made it convenient to do the things on-the-go, but who was that – brought each mobile-compatible thing on your fingertips. It was none other than mobile app marketing. Mobile marketing was adopted for the sake of doing and increasing business, but people accepted that they are too close with their favourite brands just because of mobile marketing.

So, how mobile app marketing increased the effect of social media on users via mobile technology? Let’s find it out.

1. Mobile marketing includes better mobile formatting for social media


First rule of mobile marketing is app designs and content must be easy-to-understand on mobile devices. This formula includes a better formatting of apps and its content compatible for mobile which gave birth to columnar fashion and shareable mobile content.

  • Columnar Fashion: Columnar fashion is a fix format of mobile app includes a header image, short and sweet one-sentence bio and company’s content. Other features are also there to include depending on the type of app, but the mentioned ones are compulsory for a powerful communication between brand and users.
  • Using Shareable Content: After following a fix format strategy, next comes your content that fits your brand into users’ mind. For mobile apps, visual content like images and videos create more engagement than others. Adding customers’ reviews to your app will be an added benefit.

2. Niche mobile apps are filling the role of static landing pages 


Niche mobile apps have ended up the need of static landing pages. In fact, in mobile marketing zone, niche apps have their own place because of their obvious advantages: 

  1. Niche apps are made to focus on specific leads or limited audience.
  2. They are far away from competition with big apps as because of specific targeted audience they don’t need to do so.
  3. Niche apps offer great marketing advantages like user interaction tracking and use of push messages

3. Users consume more Social media news through mobiles than desk 


63% of Facebook users and same number of Twitter users say that they are consuming major amount of news through social mobile networks. They commit that mobile + social media technology has increased their willingness to know more about the world beyond their personal lives.

Proper mobile app formatting + users growing trust on social media sites have made it possible. I agree with this because whenever I open Facebook, my mind fills up with some news that I found while scrolling down.
In fact, I like to subscribe in various pages to get auto-updates of things I like to read on my FB page

 

4. Social Networks can deliver better targeted content via smartphones


Social networks can better define the age group resides in them. For e.g. you will find younger people more on Facebook and Twitter, while adults like managers and other executives are passing their hours on LinkedIn and Google+. Furthermore, teens or less than this age are more likely to be viewing social networks via their handheld device.

App marketers consider this data invaluable for their marketing strategies as they can provide specific content based on age-group.

5. Social media ads are more interactive with mobile technology than ever before


Mobile ads are built on the backbone of correspondence and intuitional usage. Ads simply ask for involvement of users and feedback in return which will hardly take few minutes for mobile users. By obtaining data from users, marketers can analyse users’ behaviour and use the same to increase its ROI.

This is just a view of sea from the sea shore. If you jump in, you will find many jaw dropping benefits of mobile technology and social media marketing.
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1 Oct 2015

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5 Superb Ways to Raise Your App Engagement within 24 Hours

App user engagement = time spent by user on app + major actions performed within app. 

The goal of app marketers is to make users’ spend maximum time with app and perform as many actions as they can. They fulfill this goal with various strategies among which social media is the popular one followed since years.


We all are aware of the fact that none of the strategy is compelling enough to raise an app engagement level within 24 hours. Each strategy needs a good amount of time to fit your app in users’ mind. I believed the same like you, but I came through an article introducing increase in app engagement level overnight. I gathered some tips from it and now sharing the same with you.

1. Start with an attractive point

Promote your resources with an attractive point to catch an immediate attention of your users. For e.g. you are promoting your article of 25 tips on app marketing on Twitter, start your statement with “25 things amaze me about app marketing”. This will set an instant image in users’ mind, making them willing to read more.

2. Focus on one at a time

Never make your presence felt everywhere at a time. This will confuse you as well as your users. It will also turn your strategies into a puzzle. While tweeting, focus only on tweets, while sharing on Facebook, focus only on best ways to share, and so on – because every social media channel or other shareable resources have their own way with a different collection of audience to expose your content. So, it’s better to be at one place on one time.

3. Recycle Your Content

You can use a single content in many ways by making some small changes. Like you can tweet same content with different words, you can change image and share it again with a different title, etc. Maintain a good time balance before you share the same content again. Also, make sure that the content is performing well; otherwise there is no meaning of recycling.

4. Create a Sequential Story

Create a content or image that explains step by step procedure. Below given image is a good example to understand this point.



You can explain your words through images in many ways like diagrams, stairs, templates, etc. 

5. Insert a Call-to-Action

Speak with your audience – tell them what you want from them. If they have enjoyed your sharing, they will definitely do what you have mentioned at the end of the article. You must have seen posts where at the end writers are asking your advice on their written articles via comments – this is the way to communicate with your audience and engage them with your resources.

Conclusion

There were 10 tips shared from which I found these 5 quite unique while the others were common like finding customers, promoting articles, keeping the length short and understandable, etc – you must have heard about these from all those marketers sharing app engagement techniques.
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11 Aug 2015

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In-App SEO: A New Face of App Marketing

I think you took a big break from SEO stuff after entering to the world of app marketing. It’s the end now, you have to come back from that break and again adopt SEO to add it with your app marketing techniques. Don’t recall those old techniques as it is an SEO for apps not for websites. One thing that remains common is those scary updates that you have to bear again with your in-app SEO tactics. Here are glimpses of recent update affecting the ranking of apps.

Don’t get afraid of updates as you have to adopt SEO compulsory to improve the exposure of your app. With in-app SEO, new techniques like app indexing and deep linking are entered to this new brave world. Let’s have a brief discussion on that.


App Indexing

Traditional hyperlinks don’t work for mobile apps because of which Google’s engineers turned to App Indexing API (Application Program Interface – a set of routines, protocols, and tools for building software applications. It’s a plug-in allowing programmers to communicate with applications).

App Indexing allows developers to deep link content within apps and send this data to Google. Let’s understand the same definition in different way from Google itself:

“App Indexing helps you engage your app users and increase app installs directly from Google Search. This means that mobile users who have your app installed will be able to open content deep in your app directly from Search results, and Android users who do not yet have your app installed will be given an opportunity to do so.”

To know more about App indexing must refer to this video from Google’s developer’s blog.


Deep Linking

We all are a bit familiar with deep linking – it is something that connects you with a piece of searchable web-based or app-based content.

Till today, we have seen deep linking within websites (one website connects you with another website via URLs). But in app, the concept is quite different.  It works like connecting one app with another app via URI (uniform resource indicator). URI works like URL, the only difference is it connects apps with other apps while URLs connect websites with other websites.

Relevant Marketing

Again, relevancy is prior for brands with mobile apps when it comes to marketing. Deep linking is a key part of SEO. You have to use it efficiently at the right time with the exact content users are looking for. While doing in-app SEO with deep linking, you have to focus on three goals: improving user experience, speed-up sales, and strengthening brand loyalty.

Closing
App indexing, deep linking and relevant marketing are first steps of in-app seo. More tactics will be introduced in future with more updates from Google. Till then, keep on trying to search more about new app marketing techniques and make all of them secure from upcoming Google updates for app rankings.

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22 Jul 2015

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8 Classy Tactics To Put a 5-Star Crown On Your App

App marketers don’t have time to look after at user ratings and the worse is: they don’t work hard to get 5 star ratings. For some marketers, getting 3.5 – 4 star ratings are enough to get ranks on app store. But let me remind you that first choice of users is the app that has 4.5 – 5 star ratings.

User ratings can impress or depress prospective users. If user ratings are high, app has more chances to get a place in smartphone or if they are low – reverse results. Therefore, it’s actually a big deal to struggle hard for 5 star ratings.


Follow these 8 tips to improve your user ratings and influence your prospective app users.

1. Follow the Negative Reviews 

Marketers and developers often close the doors of hope by seeing negative reviews. They generally stop working on their app. Negative reviews are something that you should take positively and follow them. Think them as your success ladder than you must climb up.

Response your users on their negative feedbacks and make them believe that their issues will soon be resolved. Doing such will make them feel how much important they are. They will love to remain in touch with your app and wait curiously for your next update.

2. Respond to Reviews on time 

There is a perfect time to response users because not only it influences your current users, but also your future users. As numerous users are there, so responding each one on time might be difficult. Better to use tools that will bridge a perfect time between reviews and response. LaunchKit and AppBot will help you with this. 

3. Ask for Acceptable Reviews

Don’t bombard your users with pop-ups at least at their initial stage. Leave your users with app for one week after they download it and then start asking them reviews. I bet these pop-ups will be acceptable. Just make sure that asking for review is limited.

4. Give them an Easy-to-Reach Way

Why some users post positive reviews and some post negative reviews? Users with positive reviews are satisfied users. And users with negative reviews are dissatisfied users – they are the users who want to reach you to get their app issues solved. Build a way for them so that they can reach to you as soon as possible. Solve their problems and make them satisfied with your app. 

5. Net Promoter Score (NPS) Surveys

Integrate NPS surveys with in-app messaging to help developers get valuable data using which you can improve your future app marketing campaign.

6. Don’t be in a hurry 

Accept the fact that no one likes to get disturbed while playing with app. It is essential to have feedback from users, but it is not essential to get it on the day when users are new to your app. Give them time to get familiar with the app and then you can proceed with your review asking process.

7. Route to Social Media

Social media is a strongest generator of app reviews. Maximum app users like to share their experience with friends on social media platforms. It’s obvious if you are looking for genuine reviews, social media is a best choice to go for. Provide an avenue of social media platforms to your users where they can share your app easily and freely. 

8. Run a Blogger Program

An authentic blog written by a genuine blogger is a biggest influencer. Users love to read deeply about the benefits of app and how it will help them to ease their life. The only problem is you have to find out those passionate bloggers who write about apps like a message to the world.

 
Bringing it all together 
There are a million+ tactics to get users for app reviews. But they should be followed in an effective way; otherwise they may turn the situation worse. So, it’s up to you to follow each trick with utmost care.




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2 Jul 2015

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6 Tips to Create an Ultimate Mobile Game Marketing Strategy

If you are thinking that you have made a ground breaking mobile game and you don’t need any strategy to make it popular, make sure you are walking in a wrong direction with right resources. Mobile app marketing is must for every newly built or old app and mobile game. Marketing delivers the letter of your mobile game directly to users’ like a postman. If a mobile game doesn’t have any marketing strategy that means it is not exist. This is because ranking in app store is probably typical with million+ apps and games.


Still if you want to experiment with your marketing free game, you must get results if it’s better, but you have to wait a lot – around 1 year or long and if you want results fast, then you can deal with the following steps.

1. Launch it as a service

Don’t launch your game as another game or app at app store. Launch it like a service for users. A few days before launching, talk about it with your audience via any network like social media. Create a loyal audience that instantly download your game as soon as it enters the app store.

2. Right Business Model

Basically there are three types of business model: freemium, free game with in-app purchases and premium. It would be better to choose your business model from the beginning of your app development process as last-minute decision may not be perfect for your game.

3. Targeted Audience

You have to struggle to find your targeted audience. First answer one question: Who can play your game? Kids, teenagers, adults, aged or all? Find your game-relevant audience and start studying them. This is the most approved way to nurture users’ needs and get better results. You can take help from users’ behaviour stats to design your game in a way that they like the most and to insert the features that they appreciate the most.

4. Choose Your App Stores Wisely

If you want to open the doors of revenue fully, you should choose a right platform for your game. Apple Play Store, Google Play Store, Amazon App store, etc., search for all and determine which platform can grab maximum audience for your game.

5. Geographic Research

May be a specific region is waiting for a game similar to yours. Game shows its best results when it reach to the place where the demand is more.  So, I think research for a particular country is not a bad idea especially when it has chances of making your game popular.

6. Marketing Means

Social Media, PR, TV, Radio, News, Review Sites, etc., whatever can promote your game, you should contact them all. These are the most effective sources of promotion.

If your game is still developing and take some more days to get ready, instead of resting, you should start research on topic I have mentioned above. This will reduce your burden and confusion as well at the time when game will be ready to launch. You will have more confidence to bring your game in front.
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1 Jun 2015

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8 Quick Splits to Reach 1 Million App Downloads

The real party of app developers begin when their apps hit the 1 million downloads. As usual it’s easy said than done. Developers and app marketers struggle a lot to reach at this stage. From A to Z, they apply everything that can raise their app downloads. Their process takes much time than expected.


Don’t get panic as we have discovered some solutions to cut out your long term process and make your app reach 1 million downloads within a little to no time.

Smart UI   

Take some time out of your busy schedule and have a thorough look at your app. Ask yourself: Does my app possesses a smart UI?
 
Here is the definition of Smart UI: Smart UI is responsive across devices and most important, it impresses users at their first visit.
 
Does you app have both these qualities? If not, then start your efforts to promote smartness to your App UI.

Flawless App

Is your app buggy? Full proof way to prove this is take some devices with different hardware profiles and test your app with each one. If your app is at app store, reviews will tell you deeply about this matter. May be a small bug is a big reason to your app failure.

Users Ratings

Not only bugs are responsible for poor ratings, umpteen reasons are there that prove your app’s inability to knock users’ heart. To know what the actual reasons are, it’s essential to read each and every review and understand the issues of users with the app.

In-app Referrals

Word-of-mouth is still a best solution to make your app reach to maximum users. It demands for constant activeness on social media or anything where users are looking for similar types of apps.

Presence of Press

Presence of press is mandatory in any of your app marketing strategy. As the press has millions of users, anything they publish will reach to maximum users. Find out people with same profession and discuss with them about your app. Their articles would be enough to raise your app downloads.

Launch on Right Platform

Go there where it makes sense. You can’t follow social networking people for your game app. Find out a platform that have active and interested-in-your-app users. For e.g. there are many forums where users are discussing about various types or newly released games or apps.

In-app Share Intent

In-app share intent allows users to share the app or its content on various suggested social media channels. Some apps possess necessary as well as unnecessary sharing channels like Google+, Facebook and Evernote. Now tell me, what’s the need to share on Evernote? A good app holds limited and popular channels like Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Whatsapp, etc.

Content Investment

Create website that reveals the story of your app – what it is, what it delivers, how it is beneficial, or anything that you can say. Create blogs and share them at maximum places where you can grab maximum users. Invest your time in content and content-posting places to make your app float at the surface.

Bring them All Together

Now you know what you can do to cut your time out and reach to 1 million app downloads, you should hurry up as soon as possible. Combine all the above given ingredients and apply them with your app to get the results.
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19 May 2015

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Simple Tips to Kick-Start Your Apple Watch App Store Optimization Campaign

Currently 3000+ Apple watch apps are available there at app store. You can see that competition is low giving you a high chance to get ranks on your Apple watch app with a little time and effort investment. Apple Watch app store optimization will help your app achieve its deserving stage.


In this post, you will learn about initials steps to be taken towards the success of Apple Watch app store optimization.

A New App Store

As I said in first para, Apple Watch app store is totally new to app market. It is not overcrowded like smartphones apps because of its initial steps. This only factor will help you a lot with your app’s discovery.
 
For e.g. when people type a keyword like “war” at smartphones app stores, they will overcrowd with 14000+ apps. But if they type the same keyword (war) at Apple Watch app store, they will get only 7 apps.
 
Overall, you will be benefitted with a newly entered app store.

ASO (App Store Optimzation) Meta Data

As you all know that Apple Watch apps are paired with iPhone apps, their (Apple Watch apps) metadata are almost similar to each other. Keywords, title and preview video, all are shared between Apple Watch Store and App Store. But there are some elements that needed a close attention because of the Apple Watch sensitivity in some matters. Here they are:

App Icon

You have to design a separate icon for Apple watch. Make sure that Apple watch app icon must show the relevancy with iPhone app – it should be design in such a way. We are not saying to design it same as like the iPhone app icon, but it must show some relevancy to get easily recognized. And its design must fit in the circular icon to show easily up on Apple watch.

Using “Apple Watch” Keyword

Adding “Apple Watch” to your keywords is not allowed, but you need to show that your app is exclusively designed for Apple Watch. For this, you can mention “Apple Watch” words to your description and in What’s New Section.

Screenshots

Yes, you need a different layer of screenshots for Apple Watch app because an Apple watch app and iphone app both have different images and functions. To place Apple watch app screenshots, you have to utilize the space given above the screenshots of iphone app.

App Quality

ASO works well only with high quality apps. This is the initial stage of Apple Watch, may be you don’t have in-depth data for what an Apple watch app should have to grab users attention. It requires a deep research and creativity to develop a worthwhile app for apple watch. So, before you go for any app marketing campaign, make sure that your app is able to deliver good ROI in exchange of your app marketing cost.

Final Thoughts
Smartwatch market is too small in front of smartphone market. It will take time or a short time to come up and raise the competition in the market. But for now, it is a small market which may affect your keyword ranking. It means if your keywords rank higher on Apple watch app store, it might not deliver same results as when it ranks higher on smartphones app store. Better to wait and keep going with your efforts.

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20 Apr 2015

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You Need These Five Tools to Manage Your Users Reviews and Ratings

If you are an app marketer, it’s not a big deal for you to meet with hoards of pleased and upsetting reviews. Good reviews take your app up for a choice while bad reviews put it down making it avoidable when users are searching with similar keywords. You can enjoy the pleasure of good reviews, but you can’t manage the stress of bad ones. That’s why you need to learn managing good and bad reviews, so that your app shouldn’t be avoid just because getting off on the wrong foots.

When it comes to manage app reviews, you have to first collect some great user review tools and learn how to use them. Luckily, we have those great tools to save your searching time.

1. Appsfire

 
Appsfire helps you manage reviews of both Android and iOS apps. It is too light to learn and too easy to execute. You can start with it within a few minutes.

Appsfire is a mobile native advertising company who has introduced Appsfire SDK to help you manage mobile app reviews. Capturing users’ attention at the right time is an exceptional quality of this SDK.
 
This SDK sends users’ opinions or suggestions directly to your inbox where you can manage them by separating good reviews from the bad ones. Bad reviews will end up in your inbox and good ones will reach to their right place.

2. Apptentive


Apptentive follows a different way than Appsfire. Its SDK first collect your users’ feedback and let you have a word with them directly via your app. You can personally interact with your users and solve their app issues. You can run a survey for your users to ask them questions and their experience with the app. Overall, Apptentive is to improve your relationship with customers. 

3. Appboy


Appboy provides you a segmentation tool using which you can send personalize message to your users. Sounds familiar like Apptentive. But it is something more than that. It identifies your users and their behaviour as well to improve your app marketing skills.

4. UserVoice

 UserVoice has three tools to help you manage app reviews:
  • An effective feedback-and-idea gathering tool to prioritize any users’ content and start in-app conversation.
  • A helpdesk to resolve issues easier and quicker.
  • Knowledge based management tools to delegate your customer support campaign.

5. Instabug

 


The most interesting thing about Instabug is users can reach to you by shaking their smartphone. When they tilt their mobile, a screenshot will be captured and it will reach to you to make you understand the parts of app where users are facing problems. This will decrease the number of bad reviews and improve app engagement. In bonus, Instabug gives you easy-to-read charts of bugs founded by users in your app for better tracking.

With the above given tools, you can kick-start your app review manoeuvre within minutes. You can make strong and long-term assets of reviews, ratings and feedbacks that give guidance to new users and also influence them to reach the download stage.
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10 Apr 2015

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6 Psychological Triggers to Boost Your App Engagement


No more app marketing books, I think you must start to read on books relevant to human psychology or human behaviour. Studies say that the key to success of any business is understanding psychology. And you are in business of app marketing where your daily schedule is applying activities to engage more and more app users. Where you are daily seeking for new tips to engage app users, why don’t you try a different approach starting with understanding users’ psychology?

App marketers, who have done this, admitted that it is truly an interesting activity to understand how human mind works and how an expert app marketer can boost app engagement by doing things in way humans actually appreciate.

Back to the point, getting tips from the psychological app marketing experts, we have collected here some essential tricks that will skyrocket your app engagement campaign. And we have assembled examples to explain you in detail.

Hide Negativity (Like Tinder)

Tinder hides negativity. No one likes to get rejected from the person he/she wish to connect with. When the opposite person accepts the request, Tinder says it happily, but when someone rejects the request, Tinder prefers to hide it by saying nothing to the requester. You must take an inspiration from Tinder and apply the same philosophy in your app too. Reveal positivity with happy words and hide negativity by saying nothing at all.

Reveal Social Proof (Like Basecamp)

Do you have a social proof of what your app has actually done yet? Refer to Basecamp, you will get an idea of how to show the social proof to inspire users about your app and its value for people using it. Users are quite scary people because they are aware of virus, hackers, etc attacking their smartphones these days. To remove their scare, you have to show them the real proof of number of users already using your app.

Curative Content (Like UPWORTHY)

Upworthy always share curative content – the content that create curiosity in users to read more about the story. Their titles leave a long lasting impression on users mind making them curious to read more. Take Upworthy as your example and start creating curative content for your app marketing campaign.

Add Personalization (Like Amazon)

Amazon fills its web pages with suggestions based on previous browsing and buying experience of users. Rich suggestions let the users understand what they are exactly looking for and where they will get it. This is called Personalization which must be there with your app to deliver better user experience.

Reward Users (Like Yelp)

You will get coupons, gift certificates, etc for yelping – for posting reviews on yelp. What an inspiring approach to get users on site and tell them to post reviews of their personal experience with the place. Rewards inspire users to do the things. They feel like a champion when they get rewards for those things which are easy for them to do.

Give Come-Back Reason (Like CSR Racing)

It’s easy to forget any game after playing it for a month because we have lots of options to have different gaming experience. But users are still playing CSR Racing game because the game give users come-back reasons like push notifications for upgrades, buying new cars, etc.

Above given apps have very well understood the human psychology and applied the approach in way users like the most. Their app engagement is much better and still growing. If you apply some of the above strategies, your app will be able to walk on a way of growing users’ engagement.
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23 Mar 2015

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How Meerkat is Beneficial for App Marketers? 3 Ways to Explain

Meerkat is an app allowing users to live stream their videos via Twitter. The app didn’t take much time to get popular in crowded app market. Of course, if the app is useful enough, nobody can stop it to get popular within such a short time.

Meerkat has taken its step towards app marketing world. And marketers are giving a warm welcome to this new app. Currently, Meerkat is being experimented by number of Brands. They are finding this app beneficial in many ways. Here we will look after 3 unique ways Meerkat can help app marketers reaching to wider audience.



1. Real-time Engagement at Free of Cost

When you are launching a new app or an update of already existed app, you have to wait till your messages reach to the users. You have to wait till the users land to your app via various app marketing resources. There is no waiting at all with Meerkat. You can go live with your app on Meerkat – you can explain your app, its features and much more about it. Interested users will come to you to see your live concert. And they will engage with your app in real time with zero cost. Isn’t it good?

2. Live Events

Do you know what – a video is thousand times more trustworthy than a very well-written promo, especially if it’s a live video. It shows what you want it to be. Users find it trustful just because it is live on their favourite social networking channel Twitter. An app video content highlights the best part of your app accompanied by the depth of information your users love to hear about. Live events bring an opportunity for app marketers to show off their latest and the greatest.

3. Instant Reviews, Ratings and Feedbacks

This is why Meerkat shines brightly in app marketing world. Why marketers are struggling a lot to make their products reachable to wider audience? Why they continuously ask you for suggestions? Why they are keen for your response? Because you are the only way to improve their app. Your reviews, ratings and feedbacks are their opportunity to make changes in their products.
Meerkat announces live events – it means you can launch your product or update live. If everything can go live, why not the reviews and ratings too. They will be instantly live. And you can response to it in real time.

Bottom Line

Live video is a future of app marketing. The way marketers are digging a deep with Meerkat, it seems that video app marketing will soon be added as a foremost part of campaign. Whole world is shrinking through social media; people are more interested for face to face interaction. Live events possess enough ability to fuel their interest.
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14 Mar 2015

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Top 4 App Marketing Services Highly used by Mobile Game Developers

Why some mobile game developers get hoards of downloads and why some remain limited to 500-1000-10,000 downloads? Most of times, you will hear the common answer: they built better than you. If you believe it, then leave the ground and if you don’t believe it or still have confidence that your game app is competitive in front of others, then admit it that you don’t use powerful app marketing services to promote your app.

Do you want to know about those app marketing services used by top mobile game developers? Let’s get started....

1. Ad Platforms: Game developers are using different ad platforms to promote their game.
  • User Acquisition Ad Platforms: Facebook, Google, AdColony, Fiksu, NativeX and Chartboost – According to John Koetsier, VentureBeat. 
  • Cross Promotion Ad Platforms: Chartboost, Tappx, Appflood, LunarAds, Appnext, etc. 
  • Affiliate Distribution Networks: Mobyaffiliates, Yeahmobi, AppLift, Tapgerine, MobPatner, etc. You can find more within the list.
2. Install Attribution: Attribution refers to measuring user events like number of app installs, repeated app launch, level of completion, in-app purchases, etc. You have to measure them all to know where your game app has reached and where it needs to reach. Tools like Appboy, Appfireworks, etc., help you achieve proper analysis and in turn, great results.

3. In-App Analytics:
You have to recognize users’ behaviour towards your game. Which part they like the most, which part throws them away from game, where they get stuck for a long time and finally leave the game or uninstall it? All these questions matter more for game developers because they can make changes as per their users’ desire. To identify your users’ behaviour, you need help of in-app analytics tools like Apptamin, Localytics, Flurry, etc. These tools will let you dig the depth of users’ behaviour and make changes accordingly.

4. Community Engagement: There are some tools which help you get directly engage with your game users like Netmera, Mobiledonky, Interakt, etc. These tools provide you different ways towards your users.

These tools help developers to maximize the chances of mobile game success. If you have good number of downloads with your game app, then also you need these tools to maintain the traffic numbers for the time app exist.

Apart from these tools, developers follow numerous ways to welcome users via mobile game marketing. They personally engage with users via various social networking and forum discussion sites. They promote their game on those networks where users are seeking to play something different. They keep a constant eye on users’ reviews, ratings and feedbacks to make necessary improvement in their game. Efforts list of game developers is quite big to mention in a single blog. At present, we have this much, but we will keep you updated with the best tools.

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28 Feb 2015

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How to Make a Video and Use it for App Marketing?

A picture is worth a thousand words; imagine what it would be for a video. May be 10,000 words. You have your app, its screenshots, images, and contents. Now the time is to make a video of app and spread it throughout your connections.

In this post, we have collected 5-5 of video, means 5 tips on how to create a video and another 5 tips on how to use it for app promotion.

Make Video For App Marketing

5 Techniques to Create a Killer App Video


1. Your Audience and Video Purpose
  • Who will watch your video
  • How will you create a video which can serve its purpose as well as impress your audience?
Ask these questions from yourself or your video makers. You will definitely reach to some good results.

2. First Script, then Video

Creating a video without making the script first is like going off the deep end without learning how to swim. If you prepare a script first, you will get an exact idea of what you are creating for your audience or you will also come to know about: is your video script is worth for your audience? While making a script, don’t forget to ask the two questions given in #1.

3. Short and Sweet

Users can’t digest more than their capacity. Once they get bored of your video, it takes a second for them to close the video and divert the mind on something short and sweet. Minimize your app video size as short as possible and to the point as well, like a spot of a minute or less, for instance.

4. Pure and Simple

We don’t mean here that you will create a dusty video. With pure and simple, we mean to video with basic essentials and simple to understand. Keep your video away from complications; otherwise users will break up with it (i.e. they will not be interested to see it.

5.Only Critical

A one minute or less video is a challenge. You have to keep critical in it and kick off waste from it. Then only, you can at the end make a useful video that is worth of a one minute time wasted by users.

After Making Video, It’s Time for Marketing with 5 Simple Steps Ahead


1. Find Out Platforms
 
Youtube, Vimeo, Daily Motion, and a lot are there with gates open for video promotion agencies. Search on web for such sites, put your video on them and leave the rest on audience.

2. Turn to Social Media

Once you are done with video platforms, turn to social media and share your video among your circles. The more people you are connected, the more viewers you will get. Put a short video description of one line, so that users get an idea of what they will see within it.

3. Contact Bloggers, Journalists and Influencers

One habit of bloggers, journalists and influencers is they love to see videos and describe their experience in words. That’s why you have to contact them, and let them see your video, so that they can create a post of impressive words for your app.

4. Cross-promotion

Exchange your app video with others. There are video marketers like you, looking to promote their own video. Give them yours, take theirs. Market their video in your social circles and let them market your own video in their social circles.

5. Participate in Awards, Contests and Other Pitches


Crowd of Influencers is more in events like contests and awards. You can find them easily in such events and show your app with its video to them. If they are interested to know your app, they are also interested to spread the words of your app.

Last-Minute Thoughts

At last, again, we would like to recall the real importance of video for app marketing. Video is a unique and powerful way to explain your app to the world. It tells them why they actually need your app or it serves the key purpose of your app. Neat, clean and to the point video is more efficient than long, boring video. So, make it, shake it and promote it.
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13 Feb 2015

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The Art of Magnetizing App Users: 5 Basic Rules of Push Messaging

Push messaging is not a new phenomenon, but with the growing usage of mobile devices and mobile apps, push technology has grown to be an important channel for app marketers through which they can directly communicate and re-engage app users as many times as they want.


Push notifications can either increase the volume of app users or it can intensely irritate them if not applied precisely. At one end this technology is truly effective, while on the other end, it is too sensitive. Push messaging technology is the art of magnetizing app users at the right place, right time with the right slice of information. By keeping the following 5 basic rules, you can learn and apply the sensitive art of push messaging.

1. Be Familiar with Your Users 

Mobile apps create a friendly and confidential relationship between a brand and users. Push notifications can extend or shorten the period of relationship. If your users are wishing to get notifications from your brand, it means they have a trust on you and they believe that they will get worth reading. You have to take extreme care of their trust by sending relevant and useful messages that are also to a limited degree.

2. Resonate Push

Look at your app and its updates going to launch in few days or weeks. Create the news of updates, split them in messages and spread them among your users. Your app related messages must be written in a way that can resonate with your users. Identify the messages that are most talked about and try to send the same types of messages every time in a different format.

3. Put in Order

Once you get acquainted with the contents you need to feature, arrange the list of days for them. Publish them as per the organized date and time and keep tracking their open rates. Open rates will tell you about the most compelling message your users love to discuss about.

4. Put a Limit on Frequency

Messaging too frequently might make your users feel irritating due to which they will either unsubscribe from your notification centre or remove your app permanently. Prepare a schedule including the time of your messages and a few days of gap between them.

5. Messaging with a Personal Touch

Mix your messages with fun facts or the interested facts to add some personal touch. These messages will not only resonate with your users, but also give them a reason to share with their friends. Make sure that your message tone is aligned with the identity you are dreaming of to create.
 
Push messaging is still the best way to connect, communicate, and re-engage app users, no matter how many new app marketing tips come into the play. This technology plays a key role in converting the name of your company into a brand. It is quite sensitive to apply, but once you get to know how to apply it correctly, no one can stop your app to shine through.
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9 Feb 2015

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2 Things that Make Apps Super Successful

It is easier to make an app, at the same time it is extremely tough to market it and achieve a great success. Today, with millions of apps available in each store, getting the visibility and downloads of our app is a back-breaking task where the guarantee of success is not sure.

Marketing an app is not only about attracting users to download it. It is about gaining feedback from users concerned with their thoughts, experience, and suggestions for the app. It is also about notifying their behaviour when they are busy with the app. All these resources will gather you a set of users’ insights which you can utilize to make necessary changes in your app.

As simple it seems as hard it is to implement. Most of app marketers lose hope on the way when they are not meeting with expected results. They leave it before completion saying that they are far away from luck. But app success is not by luck, it is not by chance, it is by app concept, design, development and many other factors.










Well, we are not here to teach you some app designing tips or marketing tips to integrate in your app. We are here to make you think of what you should think before you jump deep without taking a torch to shed lights on the way of success.

Build a business not a hobby
Your business serves your products and services to customers. Your app is doing the same, it serves your products and services to users. So, you can say that an app is a business.

Some people make an app keeping in mind their business while some build it just as a part of their hobby or just an app that possesses great inspiring designs, but no concept at all.

Basically, we wanted to tell you that think like a businessman who is going to build a business on app. Treating your app like this will take you and your app too far and too wide with tremendous opportunities of income. Ok now, if you are thinking your app is your business, you must think like what you should do to put the boat of your business on the water and keep it going.

Start your journey with a small boat. It means build a prototype of your app to validate your idea. Prefer a small amount of investment on your app with basic functions. Analyse the number of users redirect to your app, download it and use it for some time or more. Then start gaining insights of users about your app. Whether they like it or not or they need any further development. Analytics and other tools will help you for the same.

Don’t Think That There is no Tomorrow

Many app makers built the app and leave it on the app store, thinking that users will come from their own if they are interested. They don’t prefer to go for any further efforts like mobile app marketing or anything. Their thoughts are like there is no tomorrow.

Do you really think that there are chances of a single app to get discovered in already available millions of apps? No, not at all. As we discussed in our first tip: don’t think that you are building an app, think that you are building your business. A businessman never leaves his business to be served automatically among the users. Develop your thinking in this way, so you will never ever dare to leave your app and its success on luck or on your users.

In summary, stick the thought in your mind: if you are not ready to put extra hours and efforts in your app, your app is not ready to reach the success. Successful apps are the result of effective efforts of entrepreneurs.

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